F.A.Q. Terms of Use F.A.Q. F.A.Q.
Members Members   Search Search     Register Register   Login Login   Home Home
 Oilers » No 2017 Oilers Rookies - U of A Golden Bears game
Switch to flat viewSwitch to tree viewCreate a new topicSubmit Reply
 No 2017 Oilers Rookies - U of A Golden Bears game [message #698534]
Tue, 22 August 2017 09:54 Go to next message
Pseudoreality  is currently offline Pseudoreality

No Cups

This is too bad. I always looked forward to this game from the time I was a student watching Stoll and Comrie. It looks like they will be focusing on a game with the downtown colleges instead.

http://edmontonjournal.com/sports/hockey/nhl/edmonton-oilers /edmonton-oilers-prospects-will-play-combined-nait-macewan-t eam-in-annual-rookie-game

This is a step down in competition and a hit to the University athletics program.

Send a private message to this user  

Re: No 2017 Oilers Rookies - U of A Golden Bears game [message #698535 is a reply to message #698534 ]
Tue, 22 August 2017 11:15 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Adam  is currently offline Adam

6 Cups

Pseudoreality wrote on Tue, 22 August 2017 09:54

This is too bad. I always looked forward to this game from the time I was a student watching Stoll and Comrie. It looks like they will be focusing on a game with the downtown colleges instead.

http://edmontonjournal.com/sports/hockey/nhl/edmonton-oilers /edmonton-oilers-prospects-will-play-combined-nait-macewan-t eam-in-annual-rookie-game

This is a step down in competition and a hit to the University athletics program.

I don't really understand this. Why would you choose to play weaker competition and a combined squad? Do the Oilers just want to ensure they get the W? Or is this because it's a downtown game and so there's some spin-off economic benefit for the Oilers?

I'm guessing the latter - it's about money and how the Oilers can increase their take...

"This team needs an enema!"